Home · Schedule · Tracks · Recommendations · Registration

Practitioners Reports

Old Code

Wednesday, 29 October – 13:30-15:00

13:30 - 14:00
Using AspectJ for Component Integration in Middleware

Adrian Colyer, IBM UK, adrian_colyer@uk.ibm.com
Ron Bodkin, New Aspects of Security, rbodkin@newaspects.com
Jim Hugunin, PARC, Jim.Hugunin@parc.com
Andrew Clement, IBM UK, andrew_clement@uk.ibm.com

This report discusses experiences applying and enhancing AspectJ for a middleware product line at IBM. The purpose of this effort was to apply Aspect Oriented Programming to cleanly separate components from their execution platforms, while still allowing them to take advantage of platform-specific facilities for aspects such as error handling, performance monitoring, and logging. It presents the evolution of the design, implementation, tools support, and approaches used to achieve organizational buy in.
Keywords: AspectJ, aspect oriented programming, middleware

14:00 - 14:30
Five years of framework building: lessons learned

Kurt Madsen, MetaTech, Inc., madsen@tampabay.rr.com

When developing large software systems, it is often difficult to foresee exactly which trade-offs are important, and which quality parameters will be of importance down the road. This paper reports experiences from a project in which a large application framework for B2B integration has been continuously developed and used over a five year period. The framework has been the foundation for a variety of different concrete applications; here we will report on our experiences from this endeavor.

14:30 - 15:00
Agile Regression Testing Using Record & Playback

Gerard Meszaros, ClearStream Consulting, gerard.meszaros@acm.org
Ralph Bohnet, ClearStream Consulting, ralph@clrstream.com
Jennitta Andrea, ClearStream Consulting, jennitta@clrstream.com

There are times when it is not practical to hand-script automated tests for an existing system before one starts to modify it (whether to refactor it to permit automated testing or to add new functionality). In these circumstances, the use of “record & playback” testing may be a viable alternative to hand-writing all the tests. This paper describes experiences using this approach and summarizes key learnings applicable to other projects.