Workshop

7 Process Engineering for Object-Oriented and Component-Based Development

Sunday, 26 October – 8:30-17:00 Full day

Don Firesmith, SEI (USA), opfwebsite@hotmail.com
Cesar Gonzalez-Perez, University of Technology, Sydney (Australia), cesargon@it.uts.edu.au
Brian Henderson-Sellers, University of Technology, Sydney (Australia), brian@it.uts.edu.au
Pavel Hruby, Microsoft Business Solutions (Denmark), phruby@acm.org
Dilip Patel, South Bank University (UK), dilip@vax.sbu.ac.uk
Dan Rawsthorne, Net Objectives (USA), DrDan@NetObjectives.com
Bernhard Rumpe, Munich University of Technology (Germany), rumpe@in.tum.de
Magdy Serour, University of Technology, Sydney (Australia), magdy@serour.com
Hadar Ziv, eBuilt Inc., (USA), ziv@ics.uci.edu

During the last decade, Object-Oriented/Component Based Development has gained a wide acceptance from both academics and practitioners as the current optimal technology for software development. This has led to the creation of a plethora of OO methodologies and, more recently, OO processes. Many attempt to provide a "one size fits all" process.

An alternative that we explore in this workshop is to construct and/or tailor a process specifically for the organization by use of the technique of process engineering. While the creation of process components is reasonably mature, the guidelines to help organizations construct their own process from these process components are little understood. The workshop aims to create concrete advice to organizations on process construction and process tailoring. This will require interchange of ideas and experiences between researchers and practitioners.

http://www.open.org.au/Conferences/oopsla2003/PE.html