OOPSLA 2002



Tracks
Technical Program
Tutorials
Workshops
DesignFest
Educators' Symposium
Doctoral Symposium
Demonstrations
Posters
Student Research
Competition

Student Volunteers
Special Events
Exhibits
Housing Information
Registration Information
Transportation

Thursday, 7 November – 15:30-17:00

Session B

To Be Extreme, or Not to Be Extreme

Moderator: Steven Fraser
Consultant, sdfraser@acm.org
Kent Beck
Three Rivers Institute, kentbeck@csi.com
Ron Jeffries
Object Mentor, Inc., ronjeffries@acm.org
Joshua Kerievsky
Industrial Logic, Inc., Joshua@industriallogic.com
Charles Pool
Iona, Charles.Poole@iona.com
Jutta Eckstein
Objects in Action, jutta@acm.org
Rob Mee
Pivotal Computer Systems, robmee@hotmail.com
Erik Lundh
erik.lundh@compelcon.se
R. Reintz
rreintz@earthlink.net

eXtreme Programming is built atop a canon of 12 software engineering best-practices. Debate continues on the necessity of application of all 12 practices for the success of a project. Heresy (religious methodological differences) continues in the community on the subject of "missing practices", i.e. teams that have reported success while not embracing all XP practices.

This panel will provide a lively (you WILL have fun), informative, highly interactive session to debate differences and similarities in approach. Audience members will be questioned at regular intervals for their opinion.

We propose panelists from a variety of contexts (corporate, consulting, academic) to share their opinions, biases, and experiences.

Format

Standard Panel