OOPSLA 2002



Tracks
Technical Program
Tutorials
Workshops
DesignFest
Educators' Symposium
Doctoral Symposium
Demonstrations
Posters
Student Research
Competition

Student Volunteers
Special Events
Exhibits
Housing Information
Registration Information
Transportation

Monday, 4 November – 8:30-17:00 Full day – Convention Ctr - Rooms 613-614

24 1st International Workshop on Runtime Kernel Support for Dynamic Languages and Component Based Architectures

Yahya Mirza
yahya_mirza@hotmail.com
George Bosworth
Microsoft Corporation, georgeb@microsoft.com
Jurg Gutknecht
ETH Zurich, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch
David Intersimone
Borland Software Corporation, davidi@borland.com
Ralph Johnson
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, johnson@cs.uiuc.edu
Stan Lippman
Microsoft Corporation, slippman@microsoft.com
Yukihiro Matsumoto
ruby-lang.org, matz@ruby-lang.org
Elliot Miranda
Cincom, eliot@parcplace.com
Bob Rorschach

Franz, rfr@franz.com
David Simmons

SmallScript LLC, David.Simmons@smallscript.com
Gregory T. Sullivan

MIT, gregs@ai.mit.edu
David Stutz

Microsoft, davidstu@microsoft.com

For years, virtual machines have been integral to dynamic languages such as CLOS, Dylan, Smalltalk and more recently Ruby. These systems share facilities including class based objects, garbage collection, dynamic typing, and reflective capabilities. Abstracting these language specific services into a language agnostic runtime will be at the center of the next major platform competitions. To be commercially viable, such a system will need to address a wide range of problems.

The goal of our workshop is to discuss what is required in the kernel of a language agnostic runtime to better support dynamic languages and component based architectures. Our aim is not to focus on the syntactic issues of various programming languages. Instead we emphasize the design and implementation details of an object model generic enough to meet the needs of a wide range of dynamic languages while addressing the problems of component software, mobile computing and the Internet.

Workshop URL: http://hosting.msugs.ch/auroraborealis/YMirzaRuntimeKernelOOPSLAWorkshopProposalLong.aspx.